Executive Board

Executive Board

Bill Newberry, President

Bill Newberry sits on the Corona-Norco Unified School District Board of Education. He has served as both the president and vice president of the board. He has been a board member for four years, and was re-elected to an additional four year term in 2014. Bill has been a CSBA Delegate for 4 years, and the president of RCSBA for the past two years.

Jesús M. Holguín, Vice President, Advocacy

Jesús M. Holguín, a supporter of public education in many ways, has served on the Moreno Valley Unified School District Board of Education since 2002.

From 2014-2015 he served as President of the California School Boards Association (CSBA). As president, he also served as the chair of the Superintendents Advisory Council, chair of the newly established Adequacy Committee, chair of the President’s Council and chair of the Policy Platform Committee. He represented CSBA at the Education Coalition and was a member of State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson’s Blueprint 2.0 Action Planning Team. Mr. Holguín also serves as a member of the National School Boards Association Nominating Committee. One of his top priorities as CSBA President was to promote the inclusion of Visual and Performing Arts as part of the core curriculum in California schools.

He was a member of CSBA’s Delegate Assembly from 2003-2010, and has been a member of the Annual Conference Planning and Policy Platform committees, and served as an on-site validator for the prestigious Golden Bell Awards.

Mr. Holguín joined CSBA’s Board of Directors in May 2010, representing Region 18, which includes Imperial and Riverside counties.

Mr. Holguín has held the post of treasurer of the California Latino School Boards Association for seven years; president of the Riverside County School Boards Association; president of the Moreno Valley Hispanic Chamber of Commerce for three years; and board member of ACCESS to the Future. For the last 18 years he has been involved in school- and district-level parent groups including PTA, Site Council, Year Round Education, GATE, High School Curriculum, Safety Task Force committees and Booster Clubs.

Employed by the San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools since 1985, Mr. Holguín has extensive experience in school finance and earned his Bachelor of Science degree in business administration/accounting and a Certificate in Human Resources Management from California State University, San Bernardino.

Mr. Holguín and his wife, Patricia, have lived in Moreno Valley since 1985 and have three daughters.

Bruce Dennis, President, California County Boards of Education Association

Bruce Dennis is currently serving as the Vice-President of the California County Boards of Education Association. From 1995-2008, he was elected to serve on the Nuview Union School District Board of Education.

Mr. Dennis has an extensive background in child advocacy and community service. Bruce is in his eighth year on the Board of Directors of the Riverside County School Boards Association, including one term as President. He currently serves on the California School Boards Delegate Assembly representing Riverside and Imperial counties, as well as past appointments to the organization’s Policy Platform and Small School District, Annual Conference committees. He also served six years as a Federal Government Relations Chair for the National School Boards Association as well as being an eight time participant of the NSBA Federal Advocacy Institute. Bruce is a Past President of his Rotary Club and in 2010 was named a Paul Harris Fellow in Rotary International.

Mr. Dennis is a Postmaster for the United States Postal Service and was awarded the Postal Service’s Benjamin Award for Community Outreach Activities. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Administration, with an emphasis in Financial Management from California State University, Fullerton and a Masters in Boardmanship from the California School Boards Association.

He and with his wife of 34 years Robin live in Nuevo and have a daughter, Sarah, a professor at Palomar Community College.

Ken Dickson, Secretary

Tom Hunt, Treasurer

[type] => 2
[message] => opendir(/home/rcsba/public_html/wp-content/cache/db/000000/options_comments/): failed to open dir: No such file or directory
[file] => /home/rcsba/public_html/wp-content/plugins/a2-w3-total-cache/inc/functions/file.php
[line] => 82